The Royal Evolution Continues

by susanedotcohen

Yesterday, I had the television on most of the day, had my twitter feed open, and had NBC’s live feed up on my computer. All was intended not to miss the announcement of Baby Cambridge. In the end, the live feed paid off. I heard Brian William’s voice and quickly turned on the television. Brian sent me (us in case you watched it too) over to Natalie Morales and soon, the announcement came. It was exciting and once again, a chance to see Royal protocol on display.

Today, I woke up a few minutes before 7 in case the Prince of Cambridge leaves hospital (Note: Missing definite article like the British). I have the Today Show on in the background ready for Natalie to return from in front of the Lindo Wing. For those who know my television habits, I rarely watch it in the a.m. So, the fact that I watched part of the Today Show yesterday and woke up for its beginning today, demonstrates that not only am I a (huge) Royal Watcher, but I feel NBC is providing excellent (and I mean this) Royal coverage. They have the perfect balance of reporting the news and additional commentary. I commend them for a job well done!

As I have previously written, my interest in the Duchess of Cambridge is one of admiration and to illustrate my feelings, I quote myself below:

I want to approach things the way Catherine does. She takes her time in order to do things right. She see things as incremental and part of a bigger picture. I know that my view of Catherine may not be how everyone see her, but this is how I see Catherine. I see her as a strong, powerful woman who understands how the world works. The world requires patience and she was patient and it paid off. Look at her now.” (Cohen, March 1, 2013)

This admiration has a lot to do with my interest in personal evolution and my first piece on Catherine touched upon that point (Note: I only used Kate because the piece required it, but I refer to her as Catherine or Duchess of Cambridge):

The process of evolution is powerful. Maybe that is the power that intrigues me. The power to evolve and change oneself. Evolution is a chance to decide who you want to be and how you want to get there. Kate has decided what kind of Royal she wants to be through her wardrobe that ranges from Top Shop to Alexander McQueen as well as her charity work.” (Cohen, July 13, 2012)

I feel strongly that when the Duchess of Cambridge leaves the hospital today with her husband and son, she will have thought things through, likely impress us with her poise, and most importantly, do what is best for her young family. Going forward, she will continue to see the bigger picture. I look forward to watching her evolve into a Royal mother. I believe she will be an excellent one.

Congratulations to the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge!

