Putting Pen to Postcard

by susanedotcohen

Postcards Purchased at The British Museum

Postcards Purchased at The British Museum

I wrote and sent fifteen postcards while in London. Each one personalized for the recipient(s). The concierge at my hotel was quite impressed. One staff member even mentioned that he had never received a postcard. I have been thinking about sending him one. Everyone deserves the joy that postcards bring.

There is something quite special about this form of communication. Postcards are brief, but they carry meaningful messages. They represent a thinking of you during sightseeing and exploration. The few lines of text postcards possess gain power through their journey. The power comes from words traveling with a purpose. How often do words do that by mail anymore?

Right before I left, I compiled a list of recipients for postcards and asked for addresses. While asking meant the postcard would not be a surprise, I was happy to give my recipients something to look forward to in the mail.

In London, I bought postcards along the way. Three or four at The National Gallery. Ten on Oxford Street. A few at the British Museum.

Twice over a pot of English Breakfast tea in my hotel’s lounge, and once at a coffee table in my hotel room, I carefully selected a postcard for each recipient. I put pen to postcard making sure a tiny piece of my trip went into each message. I even tailored an appropriate British greeting for several of them.

The next morning(s), the postcards were stamped and sent on their way. Each postcard a little different. Each postcard special. Each postcard sent across The Pond from me to you.

 

 

 

 

 

